A Rock ‘n Roll History

dsc00969

During his adolescence my son took a serious interest in rock and roll and wanted to learn to play guitar.  I took him to the local music store in Parma and bought him a guitar that I thought he liked, but once he was in high school and earning money he invested in a much more elaborate electric guitar, that I can only describe as something looking a lot louder and more extreme than the modest little instrument that I invested in for him, which once he quit the lessons he never looked at again and it is probably still in the basement with most of the rest of his belongings that he left behind years ago.

At an age when many other boys can recite the number of home runs a baseball player has made in his career and all the facts that are printed on baseball cards, my son could talk about rock and roll bands that made a name for themselves when I was growing up.  He knew all the main groups, who played what and the repertoire of their work.  I remember being impressed enough with his accumulation of these facts to suggest he might major in rock and roll history in college, as I had heard such a thing existed locally.

On the second evening of the Word Lovers Retreat up at Lakeside Chautauqua Village, the last scheduled event was an open mic and several people took time to read the latest chapter they were working on in a current novel.  One of the established writers, Deanna Adams, pointed out that among the books she brought from home to sell was her telephone book sized Rock and Roll History which she compiled from taped interviews she did with local Cleveland musicians after the construction of the now famous Rock Hall of Fame downtown.  In fact they would like to buy the tapes from her, but she is not ready to sell them since there is so much information on them besides musical data.

I thought that was a remarkable feat of work and an important contribution to the musical history of Cleveland, Ohio and I told her it was a treasure.  The more I thought about it the more convinced I was that this would be a good book to give my son and so I bought it for him. She autographed the book to him and I brought it home and put it into a bookcase in his room.

Leave a Reply

