Monterey Bay Now

cannery_row-2

In the summer of 1969 I moved from Washington, D.C. to San Jose, California to resume residence with Carol, the roommate I shared accommodations with for two years in the District. In her Volkswagen Bus we travelled up and down the coast to get better acquainted with our new home state.

It was in that timeframe, I believe, that I read John Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath, Travels with Charlie, Of Mice and Men and Cannery Row. When I actually got to see the real place Steinbeck wrote about in its heyday, I found the place to be abandoned, dismal and empty of the life in the book. With that as my take away image of the place, I was recently quite pleased to hear as I watched a program on television called Big Blue Live, that Monterey Bay is now teeming with life and that even the sardines are coming back.

According to that program, the majestic Blue Whales have also graced Monterey Bay. Ah, it is enough to tug at my heart strings. The wonderful Monterey Bay Aquarium was built before we left California and I did drive down there with the children one time.

2 thoughts on “Monterey Bay Now

  1. That is good news indeed. It always pains me, when I read about places that were once teaming with nature’s bounty being abandoned or replaced by the usual concrete jungles. 🙂

Leave a Reply

