Perseids 2015

Perseids2015

Wendy from the ufology club picked me up at 9:00 p.m. last night and we arrived at the parking lot of the Towpath historic building about fifteen minutes later. She set up chairs and we sat there awaiting what was expected to be a spectacular show by the Perseid Meteor Shower. Once we saw a red-violet torpedo shoot across the sky we changed the direction of our chairs to view from the northeast, the direction of the Perseid constellation. There was a lot of time between the meteors, but the next one was a brilliant yellow with purple tinges. Wendy suggested that the colors were from different gases that the meteors went through at different levels of our atmosphere. Part of the reason the viewing was expected to be spectacular this year is that for the first time in 86 years, there was no brilliant moon competing for attention in the night sky. One was just a blip of some redish color. As midnight drew closer we packed up and went to the Brecksville. Between sightings we caught up on assorted topics and activities since our last visit, not taking our eyes off the sky.

I had mentioned that I could see the Cassiopeia constellation (which looks like a slightly misshapen W) from my driveway. I can also see the Big Dipper, and Orion’s Belt from there. As we sat outside looking up at the expanse above us, the gray of cloud cover began to creep in closing our clear view of the sky. I thought about my home being over to the right under Cassiopeia which I found interesting and imagining that if I had to find my way home on foot, I’d keep an eye on those stars. We also had a view of the Big Dipper as if it was on a big movie screen right in front of us.

Even with a blanket each over us we were beginning to get thoroughly cold as the temperature was expected to drop to around fifty degrees. The last one we saw was just white but still impressive. Aaron, one of the co-directors of the ufology group said he watched from about 2:30 a.m. on from his home, but all he saw were white ones, though there were many more than we saw, as the peak was expected to be around 3:00 a.m.  I have seen meteor showers from my home as well but they were not as big and colorful as the ones Wendy and I saw last evening. Location does seem to make a difference.

Leave a Reply

