Did I forget to say, Thank You?

I thank you Lord this day

for the sun shining on the lawn of dew

for all the red and yellow tulips along my driveway

for the cool crisp air that filled my lungs as this day began.

I thank you Lord this day

for the vision to see clearly the beauty all around me;

for the pink and white blossoms on the flowering trees all over the neighborhood;

for the steady rain as it feeds all the plants and trees;

for the beautiful birds and the joy of watching them.

I thank you Lord this day

for my children’s health and intelligence;

for their charm and wit and their passions;

for their creative gifts as well.

I thank you Lord this day

for my mild-mannered co-workers

for the skills that afford me a stipend by which I make ends meet;

for the fairly reliable transportation to that work place;

for friendships new and old;

for the experience of healing of heart and soul.

I thank you Lord this day

for the generosity of my sister and her family,

for the care of extended family and friends;

for the wholesomeness and happier memories of the past.

I thank you Lord this day

for the little house we call home with all its contents —

the warm blankets and comfortable furniture, books and trinkets,

pots and pans, clothing and other basics of life, for the music we enjoy;

I thank you Lord this day

for the garage to house our car and the collection of odds and ends and

equipment which have piled up in there;

for the car we depend on for a multitude of errands.

I thank you Lord this day

for anything I may have neglected to specify,

I am thankful for everything I’ve enjoyed

along the way to this point in life – a fine poem,

a good story, ice cream or dry red wine.

Leave a Reply

