Beef Barley Soup

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beef Barley Soup

It is one of my favorite comfort foods.

When I’d been eating out too often,

Or the negative aspects of life surface too frequently,

I make a big pot of beef barley soup for myself.

 Plenty of barley, onions, carrots, celery and shredded cabbage

Contribute to that taking care of me attitude.

My grandfather used to call homemade

Soup liquid gold.

It is definitely the launch of beef barley soup season. Although, like stuffed cabbage, these hearty comfort food soups are okay with me in any season, once the temperatures drift downward, I am day dreaming about them. Today was the day I could delay no longer. The soup pot is ready and I add water and spices. (A bit of salt, peppercorns and some caraway seeds), and a table spoon of beef soup base, then bring the water to a boil.

While I am waiting for the water to boil, I wash and cut up about four stalks of celery and dice one onion. Ah, the water is ready and I put the soup meat (beef shank or knuckle bone) into the pot and add the onion and celery.   I used to put three carrots into the soup, but there were five in the bag so I peeled and cut them all and added them. I add one small can of tomato sauce and half of a fifteen ounce bag of barley.  (Yes, I really like barley.)

Probably any kind of beans would do, but I usually add one can of red kidney beans. Last into the pot is half of a cabbage, shredded.   I let the pot simmer until the aroma calls to me that it is done.

Leave a Reply

