What are you looking for?

Why are you pacing around like that.

I am looking for something.

What are you looking for?

I don’t know, but I’ll know it when I find it.

I don’t understand.

Every day I look for something that will cheer me up, give me a modicum of happiness, to encourage me to keep plodding along. First thing I check the post. Nothing but this week’s advertisements and coupons. Once I shut the door I know it has to be down another avenue.

Next I check my e-mail to see if there is any good news or positive message from anyone. Nothing there either so I shut down the computer and go about getting ready to go to the office. At the very least there will be a friendly face or two and kind words to absorb for the day.

At Zumba afterwards there may be a hug or two.

If it is Tuesday and I stop at my friend Hennie’s before going home for the evening we chat and share a cup of something which is always a lift to my spirits and hers as well.

If a whole day has passed without my gleaning so much as a kernel of joy from any direction, I can at least end the day behind a good book and drift into another world for a while before my eyes tell me I must end my quest for this day.

Leave a Reply

