Memorial Day

I see the Veterans or cub scouts inserting tiny American flags at the headstones of the deceased members of our military. It reminds me that Memorial Day was originally called Decoration Day and it was always on the 31st of May. On that day every year the delicate little red roses that climbed the trellis on the east side of my paternal grandparents’ porch opened their petals to the sunshine for the first blooming of the season. The house still stands there on Velma in Parma, but the trellis and its passengers are long gone.

The day to honor the war dead was changed to a more convenient day for some in late May, so it always seems a little off kilter to me. I still miss the pretty red roses my grandparents had and I wonder if anyone put one of those little flags at my father’s grave.

Leave a Reply

