Retirement – to withdraw

My father retired from his job of forty years with General Electric Company at the age of sixty.  He worked the required forty hours a week plus all the overtime he was given and he repaired televisions, radios, and record players in his spare time at home.  Somehow he squeezed in time to mow the lawn, take my mother grocery shopping and as a family we visited our grandparents alternating weekends one side of the family with the other. 

When he retired from all of that, he said he was so busy, he didn’t know how he ever had so much time to work. 

At his age I was looking at the prospect of retiring later, but with many ideas of all I would accomplish once freed of the yoke of the work-a-day world, spent largely in mundane clerical positions with no hope of advancement in any of them.  While I did not have a second job or put in more than occasional extra hours for which there was no compensation, I did spend those years raising two bright non-conformist children who certainly put me through the paces. 

By the time I arrived at the standard retirement age, the children had moved on and the prospect of all that opportunity ahead of me fizzled out a bit and looked much less golden.  I sighed and took a long nap in hope of finding some energy to keep moving forward. 

Instead of ever retiring, I have continued to work a few hours a week at a job where I am treated with kindness and respect and I enjoy the people I meet there.   It is no longer a goal of mine to retire.  On the days I do not go to work, I am happy to be home to catch up with chores, or pursue some of my many interests. 

Leave a Reply

