Crime in Parma, Ohio

 

 

 

 

A few days ago an elderly man was stabbed in the hand and roughed up by a couple of vandals who entered his home through an open door, in Parma, Ohio.  The hooligans were not apprehended.  The picture of the victim’s home on television showed a lovely brick home well attended.  The man was injured when he confronted the intruders. 

My father grew up in Parma and graduated from Parma Senior High School.  I remember two of the last homes my grandparents lived in there and all of the family gatherings we enjoyed and the times we lived with my grandparents whenever we were between homes ourselves, as did other of my father’s siblings and their families.

I never felt unsafe in Parma, no matter what time of the day or night I was out and about.  It seemed the most natural choice of where to live when I brought my children and myself back for new beginnings after leaving Naperville, Illinois and previous residence in Sunnyvale, California.  I still had a few Aunts and Uncles and cousins in Parma and my parents were only an hour’s drive away.  Both of my children graduated from Parma Senior High School and we saw movies at the now defunct Parma Theatre.

There are more frequent reports of crime in Parma and because of my family history there, I am always saddened to hear it.

Leave a Reply

