The Undercurrent of Urgency

 

The undercurrent of urgency is in the air

I recognize the quiet screaming.

This beckoning to follow the unspoken call

is just a part of the path I silently pursue.

The air is heavy with foreboding though

I cannot see the spirits.

I sit down, offer small talk while

thoughts roll around in my head, I wait

for the right words to surface.

God be with you on your journey,

then, God Bless you!

I stand, say goodbye, thank

the nurse on duty.  She says she will

pray for all of us, I thank her again

as tears begin.

A day later, from the quiet of sleep

he leaves to begin his journey.

 

This poem was published by Joyce and Michael

Gullickson in their chapbook:  The Enigmatist 2014

Leave a Reply

